Not logged in. · Lost password · Register
Forum: agsXMPP RSS
Orion #1
Member since Jul 2009 · 6 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Subject: PubSub - can't get subscription working, even stops *all* messages when attempted
I'm new to XMPP, but am extremely intrigued by all the possibilities it offers, particularly in the arena of publish/subscribe models of communication. 

I have ejabber2 installed and running locally on my computer.  I grabbed a XMPP supporting chat client (Miranda) and created a simple C# client using this wonderful AG Software SDK.  I can send basic chat messages between these two clients without problems, presence is visible, etc.

I implemented the C# client/bot to respond with random numbers if I chat "rand" to it.  Works great.

So I wanted to implement a pubsub example such that if the user subscribes to a specific node, they'll get random numbers every 10 seconds, published by this highly advanced bot.

So, in my bot, I do something like this:

PubSubManager manager = new PubSubManager(m_Client.XMPP);
    Jid bot = new Jid("bot@mycomputername.mycomputerdomain.com");
    manager.CreateNode(bot, "mycomputername.mycomputerdomain.com/rand/get");

And then I kick off a System.Threading.Timer to call a method which generates the random number, every 10 seconds:

Item item = new Item();
    item.Value = (m_Random.Next(100) + 100).ToString();

PubSubManager manager = new PubSubManager(m_Client.XMPP);
    manager.PublishItem(new Jid("bot@mycomputername.mycomputerdomain.com"), "mycomputername.mycomputerdomain.com/rand/get", item);

To subscribe, I did the following:

PubSubManager manager = new PubSubManager(client.XMPP);

manager.Subscribe(
    new Jid("bot@mycomputername.mycomputerdomain.com"),
    new Jid("miranda_user@mycomputername.mycomputerdomain.com"),
    "mycomputername.mycomputerdomain.com/rand/get",
    new IqCB((sender, iq, data) => Console.WriteLine("Recieved!") ));