Forum: agsXMPP RSS
1.Open for chat to every one   2.Check if a username is already registered
rahabm #1
Member since Nov 2007 · 5 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Subject: Two things (Questions)
Hi,

I am kind of new with Jabber in general.
I wrote a very simple app, where someone can chat to someone else, everything is working fine, for example when I use my application to chat with some one else who is using PSI or other commercial clients, everything is fine, But when the other person from commercial clients want to chat with me They cant because I have not added them to my list using :

xmpp.MesagageGrabber.Add(JID, new agsXMPP.Collections.BareJidComparer(), new MessageCB(MessageCallback), null);

JID is the address of the reciever.

So is there something that I have to do or use to make my client open to everyone so others can start chatting with me rather that I start first.

The second I want to know is how I can find out if someone is registered with my server from my client ? I want to do this so user will be notified if they already registered so they can choose another username !!!

That is it really for now.

Thank you ! Regards
Alex #2
Member since Feb 2003 · 4317 posts · Location: Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Hello,

if a contact sends you a message you will get the OnMessage event from XmppClientConnection.
From this event you have to open a new message window or mesage tab and forward the message to this window, or find the message window if its already open and forward the message.
The MessageGrabber class is a helper class which makes tis process much easier. Once you have a message window you can tell the MessageGrabber to raise a callback for a new messages from jid x. In the MiniClient example you can see how to use the MessageGrabber correctly.