Not logged in. · Lost password · Register
Forum: agsXMPP RSS
OnRosterItem and OnPresence event racing?
c3csystems #1
User title: Anshuman
Member since Jun 2006 · 6 posts · Location: Kharagpur, India
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Subject: A possible race condition?
Hi all,

Thanks for this useful library. I am new to C# and especially threading.

My problem is when I try to implement the library in my custom GUI and login to my local Wildfire server with one client already connected to the server using MiniClient or Miranda, the online presence of the MiniClient/Miranda user is not displayed. If, however, I just put a message box before calling the roster.SetPresence(pres) function from OnPresence event, everything works fine.

Any idea, why this is happening? And why putting a message box solves the problem (not exactly solves, but you know...).
I believe we should all pay our taxes with smile; I tried, but they only accept cash!
c3csystems #2
Subject: Some additional info...
Hi,

I also noted few things...the above-mentioned problem only occurs for the first time when my application is executed. That is, when I disconnect while keeping the application (GUI) opened and login again, the contacts are displayed correctly.

Also, my login form is, in fact, not a form but a panel which I hide after OnLogin event has occured. However, in MiniClient example, the frmMain GUI seems to become unresponsive (albeit for a very small moment) once frmLogin has been disposed. May be this kind of halt in frmMain loading, solves the racing problem? In my case, the transition from panelLogin to panelLoggedIn is quite fast.

Could this be the possible reason? If so, suggest a way please to correct this out.
I believe we should all pay our taxes with smile; I tried, but they only accept cash!
Jabberer #3
Member since Feb 2006 · 249 posts
Hello,

are you invoking all the events from XmppClientConnection which update the GUI?