Not logged in. · Lost password · Register
Forum: MatriX RSS
ChrisTutt #1
Member since Mar 2015 · 12 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Subject: Accept subscribe rrequest for "both"
I'm sure this is going to be a simple question, but I'm just getting started :)

I am learning XMPP with an account in Psi and one in the MiniClient sample application.  When I add a contact in Psi I see the below in the MiniClient:

1. RECV: <presence to="christest3@voice2000.eu.bc.im" from="442082881248@voice2000.bc.im" type="subscribe" xmlns="jabber:client">
  2. <nick xmlns="http://jabber.org/protocol/nick">Chris</nick>
  3. </presence>
  5. SEND: <presence type="subscribed" to="442082881248@voice2000.bc.im" xmlns="jabber:client" />
  7. RECV: <iq id="rsttig2" to="christest3@voice2000.bc.im/MatriX" xmlns="jabber:client" type="set">
  8.   <query xmlns="jabber:iq:roster">
  9.     <item name="442082881248" jid="442082881248@voice2000.bc.im" subscription="from" />
  10.   </query>
  11. </iq>

This all looks fine but I want to the subscription type to be "both" not "from".   How would I set the subscription type when accepting a subscription request?

Thanks,
Chris
This post was edited on 2015-03-18, 09:36 by Alex.
Alex #2
Member since Feb 2003 · 4296 posts · Location: Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
you have to do the same in the other direction. In XMPP subscriptions are not automatically "mutual". "Both" is what we call a mutual subscription.

If you want always mutual subscription then you check if you are already subscribed to the user which asks you to subscribe.
If not then send a subscription request with PresenceManager.Subscribe(jid).

There is no best practice for this. Many existing clients do it different. What I have often seen (I think Psi does it also this way) is 3 buttons in the "incoming subscription request dialog", "deny", "accept", "accept & add" or "accept & subscribe".