Not logged in. · Lost password · Register
Forum: agsXMPP RSS
Avatar
kosai #1
Member since Aug 2010 · 8 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Subject: Can't grant admin privileges
hi,
i am using OpenFire server and using MucManager class.
i can't grant admin or owner privileges to an existing user, i have successfully granted membership but when i try to grant owner or admin i get this xml message:

this is my code part:
Jid newJid = new Jid("ano_4c2bee6d@dc");
manager.GrantAdminPrivileges(roomJid, newJid);

the sent stanza is:

<iq id="agsXMPP_8" to="room1@conference.dc" type="set">
<query xmlns="http://jabber.org/protocol/muc#admin">
<item affiliation="admin" jid="ano_4c2bee6d@dc" />
</query>
</iq>

the received stanza is:

<iq xmlns="jabber:client" from="room1@conference.dc" to="kosai@dc/agsXMPP" type="error" id="agsXMPP_7">
<error code="400" type="modify">
<bad-request xmlns="urn:ietf:params:xml:ns:xmpp-stanzas" />
</error>
</iq>

room1@conference.dc is my room jid.
kosai@dc is my user jid which is already in owner list of the room.
ano_4c2bee6d@dc is the user jid which i want to grant him the admin privileges

thanks in advance.
Avatar
Alex #2
Member since Feb 2003 · 4449 posts · Location: Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
It looks like its not supported by Openfire's MUC component. Try to modify the owner and admin list instead.

Alex
Avatar
kosai #3
Member since Aug 2010 · 8 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
thanks Mr.Alex for your reply, i will try it.

another question, can i grant moderator privileges (role not affiliation) if my XmppClientConnection has the owner privileges but is not joining the room?
Avatar
Alex #4
Member since Feb 2003 · 4449 posts · Location: Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Quote by kosai:
another question, can i grant moderator privileges (role not affiliation) if my XmppClientConnection has the owner privileges but is not joining the room?

in theory yes. But I have never tried this myself with existing servers, and I am not aware of a software doing this. Let me know if it works when you try it.

Alex
Avatar
kosai #5
Member since Aug 2010 · 8 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
hello again,

i tried to grant a moderator privileges, if i'm already joined the room it's working fine, otherwise i got bad request error.
i have to look for a turnaround, maybe an existing bot in every created room, or using external component which i am not aware if it can do what i need.
do you have a recommendation for any solution, any resource may help.
Avatar
Alex #6
Member since Feb 2003 · 4449 posts · Location: Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
A component does not help you. A bot will work.

Alex
Avatar
kosai #7
Member since Aug 2010 · 8 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
thanks a lot for your fast reply, i really appreciate your help and advice.
Close Smaller – Larger + Reply to this post:
Verification code: VeriCode Please enter the word from the image into the text field below. (Type the letters only, lower case is okay.)
Smileys: :-) ;-) :-D :-p :blush: :cool: :rolleyes: :huh: :-/ <_< :-( :'( :#: :scared: 8-( :nuts: :-O
Special characters:
Forum: agsXMPP RSS